nav-left cat-right

Best of Varietals Wine Awards 2014

Winemaker/winery manager Sandor Mayer receives Best of Icewine Award

Winemaker/winery manager Sandor Mayer takes Best of Icewine Award for Inniskillin Okanagan’s Discovery Series Tempranillo Icewine 2012

The results are in. Okanagan Wine Festivals Society announced the 2014 Best of Varietal Wine Award winners on May 1, marking the official launch of the 20th Spring Okanagan Wine Festival. The competition featured 25 categories, representing the best of the 380 wines submitted. Chaired by Martin Lewis, manager of Kettle Valley Station Pub, four panels consisting of 15 experienced judges  comprising wine critics, sommeliers, educators and consultants tasted the wines. At the launch ceremony held at the Ramada Inn on May 1, representatives of the winning wineries were on hand to accept their certificates. Winemaker/winery manager Sandor Mayer of Inniskillin Okanagan took the prize for Discovery Series Tempranillo Icewine 2012, as did 8th Generation co-owner Stefanie Schales for Integrity 2012 sparkling wine, and Ruby Blues owners Beat Prudence Mahrer for Red Stiletto NV Syrah/Shiraz based blend. Awards to wineries receiving two awards went to Arrowleaf Cellars for Snow Tropics Vidal 2013 (hybrid single varietals) and Vidal Special Select Late Harvest 2013 (late harvest/dessert/fortified), Poplar Grove for Pinot Gris 2013 and Legacy 2008 (red meritage blends Cabernet dominated), La Frenz for for Rattlesnake Vineyard Sauvignon Blanc 2013 and Knorr Vineyard Semillon 2013 (white single variety “other”), and Silkscarf for Shiraz Reserve 2009 and Viognier 2013. 75 finalists were recognized as well. For example Dirty Laundry’s Judi Skinner was on hand to take two finalist awards in the red meritage blends Merlot dominated category for Bordello 2010 and Cabernet Merlot 2012.

Click the link below to see an electronic PDF of all the winners:





Comments are closed.